Skip to content

Tyne and Wear Metro : Stations : Brockley Whins

LineLocationMetro station opening dateRailway station originally openedRailway station closednumber of platforms
Greensurface31st March 20025th September 183930th March 20022

Brockley Whins opened as a mainline station in 1839, and was renamed Boldon Colliery on 1st March 1925. Its name was changed back to Brockley Whins on 30th September 1991 and converted to Metro operation in 2002. National Rail services pass through without stopping— the station is now only served by the Metro.

The station serves a residential area, and is located in the middle of a triangle formed by the Newcastle–South Hylton/Middlesbrough line, the Tyne Dock freight-only line and a north–south curve between these two which is no longer in use.



Search for more pictures taken at Brockley Whins


Street map


System map

system map

More map links

Google Earth logo is © Google; Multimap logo is © Multimap

Services and diagram

Tyne and Wear Metro system diagram

Services from this stop:

Airport via Newcastle
South Hylton
† alternate trains turn short at Park Lane  
Airport station Callerton Parkway station Bank Foot station Kingston Park station Fawdon station Wansbeck Road Regent Centre station South Gosforth station Ilford Road station West Jesmond station Jesmond station Haymarket station St. James station Central station Monument station Gateshead station Gateshead Stadium station Felling station Heworth station Pelaw station Fellgate station Brockley Whins station East Boldon station Seaburn station St. Peter's station Sunderland station Stadium of Light station Park Lane station University station Millfield station Pallion station South Hylton station Longbenton station Four Lane Ends station Benton station Palmersville station Northumberland Park station Shiremoor station West Monkseaton station Whitley Bay station Monkseaton station Cullercoats station Tynemouth station North Shields station Meadow Well station Percy Main station Howdon station Hadrian Road station Wallsend station Walkergate station Chillingham Road station Byker station Manors station Hebburn station Jarrow station Bede station Simonside station Tyne Dock station Chichester station South Shields station


Back to top

Page generated in ≈ 0.0215 seconds