Skip to content

LineLocationOpening datenumber of platforms
Green/Yellowsurface16th September 19852 island platform

Pelaw station opened in 1985, replacing Heworth as the terminus of short workings from the north through Newcastle city centre (originally referred to as the Red Line). The station has been rebuilt, and the current station building was completed in 2006.

Pelaw is alongside the main line railway between Newcastle and Middlesbrough. To the east of the station are carriage sidings and a turnback facility, and past that is the junction of the South Shields and Sunderland lines.

The Metro station is the fourth station to serve Pelaw. The first station was opened on5th September 1839, and was replaced by a station further west in 1857. A third station opened, on the site of the first, on 18th November 1896, and this closed on 5th November 1979 in preparation for Metro services.



Search for more pictures taken at Pelaw


Street map


System map

system map

More map links

Google Earth logo is © Google; Multimap logo is © Multimap

Services and diagram

Tyne and Wear Metro system diagram

Services from this stop:

St James via Newcastle and the Coast
South Shields
Airport via Newcastle
South Hylton
† alternate trains turn short at Park Lane
also peak hour short workings to Regent Centre/Monkseaton via Newcastle  
Airport station Callerton Parkway station Bank Foot station Kingston Park station Fawdon station Wansbeck Road Regent Centre station South Gosforth station Ilford Road station West Jesmond station Jesmond station Haymarket station St. James station Central station Monument station Gateshead station Gateshead Stadium station Felling station Heworth station Pelaw station Fellgate station Brockley Whins station East Boldon station Seaburn station St. Peter's station Sunderland station Stadium of Light station Park Lane station University station Millfield station Pallion station South Hylton station Longbenton station Four Lane Ends station Benton station Palmersville station Northumberland Park station Shiremoor station West Monkseaton station Whitley Bay station Monkseaton station Cullercoats station Tynemouth station North Shields station Meadow Well station Percy Main station Howdon station Hadrian Road station Wallsend station Walkergate station Chillingham Road station Byker station Manors station Hebburn station Jarrow station Bede station Simonside station Tyne Dock station Chichester station South Shields station


Back to top

Page generated in ≈ 0.0175 seconds